Blue Ridge Community and Technical College

About Blue Ridge New campus, new website, new you!


Higher Learning Commission Mark of Affiliation

In March 2005, CTC Shepherd was initially accredited for five years as an independent institution by The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) and is a member of the North Central Association (NCA). On July 1, 2006, CTC Shepherd officially became Blue Ridge Community and Technical College. Additionally, individual programs are accredited by their own respective organizations/accrediting bodies.

Blue Ridge Community and Technical College began an extensive self-study process in 2006 to prepare for the HLC comprehensive evaluation in October 2009. A significant part of the Self-Study effort is the preparation of a Self-Study Report which demonstrates that Blue Ridge CTC should be accredited. Blue Ridge CTC received ten year accreditation in Spring 2010.

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation and one of two Commission members of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA), which was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The Higher Learning Commission accredits, and thereby grants membership in the Commission and in the North Central Association, to degree-granting educational institutions in the North Central region: Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Wyoming. NCA contact information is as follows: (, phone (312) 263- 0456, or 30 North LaSalle Street, Suite 2400, Chicago, Illinois 60602-2504).

Institutional Self Study 2009

Physical Therapy Assisting Accreditation